IMPORTANT: Please read our Guide To Quality Writing before you begin posting!

Dismiss Notice
Please note that we are only approving writers from the US, UK and Canada at this time.

Are Teachers Really Happy With Their Jobs?

Discussion in 'Education' started by Sunflower_Michele54, Aug 8, 2015.

1. Sunflower_Michele54

Sunflower_Michele54 Member

I am a substitute teacher, so I have witnessed how stressful being a teacher can be at times. I find it stressful being a substitute teacher at times, even though it has it's perks. Not being prepared with lesson plans and behavioral techniques are the hardest things about being a substitute teacher. Fortunately, I always had a helping hand.
    Today, I read stories and statistics about teachers quitting their jobs. Many do so between 1-5 years after starting out. The Education field is very hard today, especially if you're a teacher. Teachers are not only teachers. They are like parents, babysitters, nurses, and mentors. They take on huge loads today. Lesson plans, tests, quizzes, Standardized Tests, behavioral problems drive teachers to the point where they just don't want to deal with it anymore.
    When I started college, my major was Education. After my second semester of junior year, I dropped out of it because the classes and the lesson plan styles did not make sense. Plus, I did not want to deal with taking the praxis. I was also failing, even though I worked very hard. I chose Fine Arts as my co-major because I wanted to look into becoming an art teacher. Then, I realized that it wasn't for me. So, I switched to my co-major, and it was one of the best decisions I have ever made. Do you think teachers are really happy with their jobs? Or do they just keep their jobs for job security and summers off?

2. Rodel Partosa

Rodel Partosa New Member