IMPORTANT: Please read our Guide To Quality Writing before you begin posting!

Dismiss Notice
Please note that we are only approving writers from the US, UK and Canada at this time.

Best way to lose 40 pounds?

Discussion in 'Fitness' started by Ashley0323, Sep 19, 2016.

1. Ashley0323

Ashley0323 New Member

I am currently weighing in at 170. I am wanting to lost about 40 pounds. I will be purchasing a gym membership tomorrow and I am also beginning to eat healthier as well. What exercises are good to lose weight quickly? What kind of diets are most effective? Any tips? Thanks!

Jane Marie likes this.
  2. jb1rd78

jb1rd78 New Member

I have been dieting and losing weight for 20 months. I started my journey 2/7/15 and so far I've lost a total of 83 pounds. I first started on a low fat diet, where I was eating 6 times a day, 3 meals and 3 snacks which consisted of a combination of lean, low fat meats and good carbohydrates. I ate alot of baked fish and chicken, and a lot of salads and yogurt.

I also was exercising regularly. I was walking on a treadmill for 30 minutes, and then lifting weights for 1 hour. I did this at least 3 times a week. It worked, I lost 35 pounds in a few months. But I can honestly say that I didn't like losing weight this way. I didn't like the food I ate, and I hated exercising.

So, my sister turned me on to the low carb diet. I did research on the Atkins diet and I liked what I read and began to try it. I can tell you that I love it! I get to eat a lot of the foods I love, and I don't feel like I am starving myself. Also, I do not exercise and I have lost an additonal 27 pounds since April.

3. Mandi

Mandi New Member

The only simple true method is to reduce calories and move! Look into counting macros. Focus more on weight training as opposed to cardio. The more muscle you have on your body, the more calories your body burns just to function.

4. Jane Marie

Jane Marie New Member