IMPORTANT: Please read our Guide To Quality Writing before you begin posting!

Dismiss Notice
Please note that we are only approving writers from the US, UK and Canada at this time.

Games And Animation(For dummy)

Discussion in 'Programming' started by danspartan, Jun 26, 2017.

1. danspartan

danspartan New Member

Hello everyone, just a heads up, basically i have no knowledge about programming, scripting or anything related to those.
    But i am truly interested in games development and animation and would love to learn on how to do it. So any tips on where i should start? I don't expect for you guys to teach me right here. I'm looking for something like, what should i learn, what i shouldn't(scripting, animating, etc). What should i use and what to avoid. Any kind of tips or help would be truly helpful. Explain everything like i just came out of a cave from 20 years of hibernation lol

(currently i'm using studio.code.org, is it a good web to learnt?)

2. zenJ

zenJ New Member

I can't help you too much with animation, but I know that Blender is a good and (I believe) free software which can be used for animation and level design. It's certainly better than level design tools you can find in Unity. Which brings me to my forte, the programming. Unity is a great engine and you can do a lot as it's very intuitive, but it uses the C# language which is on a higher end of complexity when it comes to programming language.

My suggestion is to pick a language (it can be C#, there's nothing wrong with that as your first language, it can just be a little hard), and use it to learn basic stuff about programming. Things like variables, arrays, functions, objects can be tough to grasp, especially for a complete beginner so give yourself time and allow yourself to progress slowly.