IMPORTANT: Please read our Guide To Quality Writing before you begin posting!

Dismiss Notice
Please note that we are only approving writers from the US, UK and Canada at this time.

How much does Fan Art interest you?

Discussion in 'Art' started by Isabelle, Jul 15, 2016.

1. Isabelle

Isabelle New Member

Fan art- artworks created by fans of a work of fiction (generally visual media such as comics, movies, television shows, or video games) and derived from a character or other aspect of that work.

I believe most of you must have come across at least one of those fan arts in social networking sites like Tumblr, Twitter, Facebook etc. How much do they interest you?

I am a fan artist and I am curious how people think about fan art. Personally, I would prefer those art pieces which have a creative touch to it instead of those fan artists who just make their art work seem like a copy and paste of the original image.

What do you think?

2. BlueSkyeLove

BlueSkyeLove New Member

Ut non sine causa ex iis memoriae ducta sit disciplina. Placet igitur tibi, Cato, cum res sumpseris non concessas, ex illis efficere, quod velis? Scaevola tribunus plebis ferret ad plebem vellentne de ea re quaeri.

Last edited: Aug 21, 2016
  3. Betsoo

Betsoo New Member

Hey, Isabelle! Interesting question. Lately I've been thinking of how much I love Pokémon fan art, actually! It's the kind of fictional universe—one with weird creatures, fascinating cities and routes, and characters with a cool design—that really has a lot of potential for all kinds of artwork! I'm honestly not sure if I'd love the Pokémon games as much I do if I didn't have access to that treasure trove that you can find on Tumblr, DeviantArt, Pixiv, and such.

And I absolutely agree with you on the "creative touch" point! Photorealism doesn't really work for me, most of the time.

4. rollinder

rollinder New Member