IMPORTANT: Please read our Guide To Quality Writing before you begin posting!

Dismiss Notice
Please note that we are only approving writers from the US, UK and Canada at this time.

What is your favorite medium in Art?

Discussion in 'Art' started by HappyHeart, Sep 21, 2015.

1. HappyHeart

HappyHeart New Member

As a painter I have used many different mediums. There are many different ones.
    Acrylic, Oils, Pastels, Crayon, Watercolor, Pencil ect.

Coloring as a child in my favorite coloring book has survived its way into my future where I now enjoy quality time coloring with my 3 year old grandson. Did you ever do finger painting in grade school? Doodle on a paper while talking on the phone?

We are blessed with so many different mediums to create art. Which do you prefer?

2. shygal

shygal New Member

Acrylic paint is my favorite art medium. I like how fast it dries. If you mess up, it is easy to paint over once it's dried. They are less expensive than oil paints and do not have a strong or harmful fume. I also like how versatile acrylic paint can be. You can paint on just about anything if a canvas is not available. The colors are so bright and vibrant.

3. Van Gogh

Van Gogh New Member

Whatever medium you use, "I think you need to use your emotions along with your eyes". I think Andrew Wyeth said this, and I would agree. I really like pencil drawing, especially coloured pencil because it dosen't
    compete with painting.

4. icanbe

icanbe New Member

As an animator and illustrator, I find that I love illustrating line drawings in pencil and ink. Even though animation is going in the three dimensional direction, I can't let go of the pencil! I feel line drawings are very compelling and emotionally driven, especially when it comes to character drawings. I love to create emotion and find that pen and ink allow gives way to a very realistic finish.

5. poppycat

poppycat New Member